Français

Privacy and confidentiality


Protecting patient information

Sharing information


Open circle of careConsent for release:
  • implied
  • express

Implied consent

Much of a health professional's work is done on the basis of consent which is implied either by the words or the behaviour of the patient or by the circumstances under which treatment is given.

Express consent

Express consent may be in oral or written form.

When there is doubt, it is preferable that the consent be expressed.

A patient might ask for a note excusing her from work. Handing the note to the patient allows her to control its distribution. Alternatively, providing the note directly to the patient's employer can be done on the basis of implied consent.

Express consent, usually in writing, should be obtained for most personal health information sent directly from the doctor to a third party (insurance company, an employer, etc.). If the information is sensitive, or the patient may not be aware of the contents, the doctor may wish to confirm that the patient understands what information will be divulged.

Public Safety

Arising from the decision by the Supreme Court of Canada in the landmark case Smith v. Jones, physicians are permitted to disclose confidential information to the relevant authorities in the interest of public safety if all of the following conditions are present:
  • There is a clear risk to an identifiable person or group of persons.
  • The risk is one of serious bodily harm or death.
  • The danger is imminent.

Physicians are encouraged to seek specific advice and legal counsel in individual situations concerning the appropriateness and scope of disclosure of information relevant to public safety.

Learn more about Smith v. Jones — a landmark Canadian legal case
Opens in popup

Case: Threat of harm
Silhouette of angry man

Background

A patient tells you he was fired unfairly. As he talks to you, he becomes more and more agitated, finally declaring "I'm going to make my boss wish he'd never seen me."  

You ask the patient to elaborate and he tells you he's going to make a car bomb and set it off at the workplace during working hours. He convinces you he knows how to make a bomb and bolts from the office.

Think about it

What would you do next?
Silhouette of female physician on phone

Suggestions

This would appear to be an imminent, credible risk of serious bodily harm to a recognized group of individuals. Canadian law permits you to take steps to warn the potential victims (e.g. the plant manager) or the police. Only the facts relevant to the warning should be divulged.  You should seek legal advice on how to proceed if you believe time permits.
Previous
Next

English

Protection des renseignements personnels et confidentialité


Protection des renseignements sur le patient

Transmission de renseignements


Cercle de soins avec cadenas ouvertTypes de consentement :
  • Implicite
  • Explicite

Consentement implicite

La majeure partie du travail d'un professionnel de la santé repose sur le principe du consentement, qui peut être implicite, soit selon les dires ou le comportement du patient, soit en raison des circonstances qui entourent le traitement.

Consentement explicite

Le consentement explicite peut être accordé verbalement ou par écrit.

En cas de doute, il est préférable que le consentement soit explicite.

Par exemple, une patiente pourrait demander au médecin de lui signer un billet pour l'excuser du travail. Le fait de remettre la note à la patiente lui permet d'en contrôler la distribution. Par ailleurs, la transmission de la note directement à l'employeur de la patiente repose sur le principe du consentement implicite.

Sécurité du public

Par suite de la décision de la Cour suprême du Canada dans le cas ayant fait jurisprudence Smith c. Jones, les médecins sont autorisés à divulguer des renseignements confidentiels aux autorités concernées dans l'intérêt de la sécurité publique, si toutes les conditions suivantes sont réunies :
  • Il y a un risque réel pour une personne ou un groupe de personnes identifiables.
  • Il y a un risque de grave préjudice corporel ou de décès.
  • Le danger est imminent.

Les médecins sont encouragés à demander des conseils précis et de l'aide juridique s'ils s'interrogent sur la pertinence et la portée des renseignements à divulguer ayant une incidence sur la sécurité du public.

Renseignez-vous sur l'affaire Smith c. Jones, un cas ayant fait jurisprudence au Canada.
S'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre

Cas : Menace de préjudice
Silhouette d'un homme en colère (assis)

Contexte

Un patient vous confie qu'il estime avoir été congédié injustement. En vous parlant, il devient de plus en plus agité, et finit par vous dire : « Je vais faire en sorte que mon patron souhaite ne jamais m'avoir croisé sur son chemin. »  

Vous demandez à votre patient de s'expliquer, ce à quoi il répond qu'il fabriquera une bombe artisanale pour piéger la voiture du patron au bureau pendant les heures de travail. Il vous convainc qu'il sait comment fabriquer une bombe et ses composantes et il part comme une flèche de votre cabinet.

Pistes de réflexion

Que feriez-vous dans cette situation?
Silhouette d'une femme médecin au téléphone

Suggestions

Il semble y avoir un risque imminent et crédible de grave préjudice corporel pour un groupe précis de personnes. Les lois canadiennes vous autorisent à intervenir pour avertir les victimes potentielles (comme le directeur de l'usine), voire même la police. Seuls les faits pertinents à l'avertissement doivent être divulgués. Vous devriez demander des conseils juridiques sur la façon de procéder, si vous estimez que le temps le permet.
Précédente
Suivante