Français

Test yourself


Check your knowledge
Each question has 5 possible answers from which to choose. Only one choice is the most correct answer. Each choice may be accompanied by an explanation.

An adult patient suffers from recurrent lower limb cellulitis. During one episode, he experiences an anaphylactic reaction to cephalexin. This is treated quickly and results in a good outcome. Thereafter, he wears a medic alert bracelet. On another admission, cefazolin is ordered. The patient is concerned about his known allergy. The nurse checks with the physician and the order is changed. Although the patient is thanked for voicing his concern, he remains worried the event almost happened.

The term generally used to describe this type of event is:


A 50-year-old woman has an elective cholecystectomy. She experiences a complication and is frustrated by the lack of information given to her by the surgeon post-operatively. She questions why the complication occurred and as a result launches a legal action.

What principle of law is the claim likely based on? Choose the best answer.


Despite appropriate monitoring of gentamicin levels, a patient with sepsis suffers renal damage, perhaps partially as a result of the medication. A legal action alleging negligence or civil liability (fault) is launched, claiming the renal damage was preventable.

On what basis will the court determine the standard of care? Choose the best answer.


Congratulations!

You have completed the quiz for this domain.

You have completed the quiz for this domain.

English

Autotest


Vérifiez vos connaissances
Chaque question présente cinq options parmi lesquelles vous devez faire un choix. Chaque option est accompagnée d'une explication mais une seule constitue la meilleure réponse.

Un patient adulte est atteint de cellulite récidivante aux membres inférieurs. Lors d'un épisode, il fait une réaction anaphylactique à la céfalexine. Il reçoit rapidement un traitement, dont le résultat est favorable. À partir de ce moment, il porte un bracelet d'alerte médicale. Lors d'une autre hospitalisation, on lui prescrit de la céfazoline. Le patient verbalise ses inquiétudes au sujet de son allergie connue. L'infirmière vérifie auprès du médecin, et l'ordonnance est changée. On remercie le patient d'avoir signalé sa préoccupation, mais il demeure inquiet, car l'événement est presque survenu.

L'expression habituellement utilisée pour décrire ce genre d'événement est :


Une femme de 50 ans subit une cholécystectomie non urgente. Elle présente une complication et se sent frustrée du peu d'information donnée par le chirurgien en période postopératoire. Elle se demande pourquoi la complication est survenue et intente donc une action en justice.

Sur quel principe juridique cette instance est-elle probablement fondée? Choisissez la meilleure réponse.


Malgré une surveillance appropriée des taux de gentamicine, un patient présentant une septicémie subit des dommages rénaux, peut-être partiellement en raison de la médication. Une action en justice alléguant la négligence ou la faute professionnelle est intentée, prétendant que l'atteinte rénale aurait pu être évitée.

Sur quel fondement les tribunaux détermineront-ils la norme de pratique? Choisissez la meilleure réponse.


Félicitations!

Félicitations! Vous avez terminé le test associé à ce domaine.

Félicitations! Vous avez terminé le test associé à ce domaine.