Français

Cultural safety


Respect for patients and families

Boundaries for practice


Man sitting with psychiatrist

Attitudes toward healthcare and illness play a significant role in the doctor-patient relationship. Physicians with a monocultural mindset may think their own culture is most important, while those with an intercultural mindset try to understand the other culture and address issues that may interfere with the provision of good and safe care. This approach helps patients feel safe to express their preferences.

For example, the conventional western medical treatment of depression generally involves a psychotherapeutic approach which assumes patients will calmly disclose their difficulties. A physician might experience significant therapeutic challenges with, for example, a First Nations patient until the physician learns that some First Nations people need to participate in a sweat lodge ritual before being ready to express feelings.

While different people will have varying levels of comfort with difference and diversity, practising with a monocultural mindset increases medical-legal risk.

While individual physicians have a right to their personal beliefs, there are nevertheless strict expectations about what is and is not acceptable in practice and which boundaries physicians must respect.

Each Canadian jurisdiction has human rights legislation that prohibits discrimination.

Click on any word in the image below to understand the various attributes on which discrimination is prohibited.

Sex: While "sex" pertains to biological or physiological characteristics that define men and women, "gender" pertains to the attitudes, social roles, and behaviours a society attributes to a particular sex. Discrimination on the basis of sex in some human rights legislation includes the fact that a woman is or may become pregnant.Gender identity: Describes a person's self-identification as male, female, or transgender. Gender expression: Describes how someone communicates gender (i.e. through clothing or communication style). It need not be consistent with a person's gender identity or with societally-prescribed gender roles. Sexual orientation: Refers to the sex of partners to which a person is sexually or romantically attracted. Creed: Religion and creed are often used interchangeably and refer to a professed system and confession of faith which includes beliefs and observances or worship. Religion and creed are defined subjectively. A belief in a single supreme being or deity is not a prerequisite and human rights codes generally recognize non-traditional, non-deistic bodies of faith as creeds. Ethnicity, race, ancestry, and place of origin: Race and ethnicity are overlapping sociologic concepts. Race, once closely linked with ancestry, classifies individuals based on superficial physical traits such as skin colour and hair type. Ethnicity is defined by shared sociocultural characteristics such as ancestry, language, religion, and traditions. Ethnicity is however not fixed but rather self-ascribed; for example, individuals may more closely identify with the culture of their adopted homeland than that of their ancestry or place of origin. Disability: Refers to any degree of physical, mental, developmental or learning disability, impairment or dysfunction, including a person's use of remedial appliances, devices, or guide animals. Age: The length of time a person has lived to date. Marital status: Being married, single, widowed, divorced, separated, or living with someone in a conjugal relationship outside marriage. Family status: Being in a parent and child relationship. Citizenship : Refers to the country in which a person was born or given citizenship through naturalization. A person may have more than one citizenship.
Sexual orientation Marital status Creed Disability Sex Family status Citizenship Gender identity Gender expression Age Ethnicity Ethnicity Ethnicity

Doctor in reflection

Physicians generally do not intend to discriminate against either individuals or groups and may not realize that their actions might be perceived as, or sometimes constitute, discrimination.

  • Consider the following cases and reflect on how the physicians' actions could be seen as discriminatory. While these cases were not necessarily intentional abuses of the patients' rights, in all cases the patients alleged the physician had discriminated against them.

Case: Cancelling an appointment for surgery
Male surgeon with arms crossed

Background

A surgeon cancels an appointment for a patient who is HIV positive. After another surgeon performs the planned procedure in the same clinic, the patient complains to the medical regulatory authority (College)
Regulatory authority, professional:  Licensing body for a profession.
Provincial/territorial medical regulatory authority (College)
Body that regulates the practice of medicine in each province or territory to ensure the public receives quality medical care from physicians. The responsibilities include:
- Issuance of certificates of registration to allow the practice of medicine,
- Maintenance of standards of practice,
- Investigation of complaints against physicians, and
- Remedial education or discipline for those guilty of professional misconduct or incompetence.
The medical profession is self-regulating in Canada. Each authority has an investigative process and committee structure to make decisions on different issues and complaints.
 that the cancellation constitutes discrimination on the basis of a medical condition.

The first surgeon explains to the College that given the risk of post-operative infection, he believes surgery on HIV patients should be done only in hospital, not in an outpatient setting.

Outcome

The College ruled the physician had indeed discriminated against the patient on the basis of his medical condition.

The surgeon was reminded that universal precautions are the appropriate way to minimize risks when dealing with possible infection. The College stated that, in any event, the patient could not be denied access to treatment.

Previous
Next

Case: The meet and greet
Close up of female physician's hand reaching out for handshake

Background

A family physician always has "meet and greet" interviews before accepting new patients.

After being rejected, one interviewee complains to the College.

The physician's response to the College is that the patient had multiple problems that she felt should be handled by specialists.

Outcome

The College ruled the physician had indeed discriminated against the patient on the basis of the medical condition.

The College pointed out that the family physician could follow the patient's general condition and progress, while conditions outside the physician's expertise could be referred to specialists.

Previous
Next

Case: Sexual orientation
Two female gender symbols

Background

A fertility specialist refuses to perform artificial insemination for a same sex couple.

The couple complains to the human rights tribunal in their jurisdiction.

The specialist's reason for refusing is that a previous same sex couple for whom the service had been provided had involved the specialist in a legal action after the couple separated.

Outcome

The human rights tribunal ruled that this was indeed discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation. They noted the specialist readily provided the service to heterosexual couples, despite the fact such relationships can also break down and engender litigation.
Previous
Next

When considering refusing a person's request to become a patient or to receive a specific treatment, think about whether the refusal might be perceived as discriminatory.

  • To help establish diligence, document your rationale for the decision and any discussions with the patient. Complaints to a regulatory authority (College) will generally be reviewed in the context of Article 17 of the Canadian Medical Association's Code of Ethics which states:

    "In providing medical service, do not discriminate against any patient on such grounds as age, gender, marital status, medical condition, national or ethnic origin, physical or mental disability, political affiliation, race, religion, sexual orientation, or socioeconomic status. This does not abrogate the physician's right to refuse to accept a patient for legitimate reasons."

English

Sécurité culturelle


Respecter les patients et leur famille

Les limites de la pratique


Homme en présence de son psychiatre

Les attitudes à l'égard des soins de santé et de la maladie ont une grande influence sur la relation médecin-patient. Les médecins qui sont fermés aux autres cultures peuvent considérer la leur comme prépondérante, alors que ceux qui sont ouverts aux autres cultures tentent de comprendre celles-ci et de prendre en compte les aspects qui peuvent influer sur la prestation de soins de santé sécuritaires et de qualité. Une telle approche encourage les patients à exprimer leurs préférences.

Par exemple, dans la médecine occidentale conventionnelle, le traitement de la dépression passe généralement par une démarche psychothérapeutique qui suppose que le patient dévoilera facilement les difficultés qu'il éprouve. Cette thérapie pourra se heurter à des obstacles importants, par exemple dans le cas d'un patient autochtone, jusqu'à ce que le médecin apprenne que certains membres des Premières Nations doivent participer à une cérémonie de sudation avant d'être prêts à exprimer leurs sentiments.

Certains d'entre nous peuvent se sentir plus ou moins à l'aise en présence de diversité et de différences culturelles, mais en pratiquant avec un état d'esprit monoculturel, on accroît les risques de nature médico-légale.

Bien que les médecins aient droit à leurs croyances personnelles, il existe des règles strictes sur ce qui est acceptable ou non dans la pratique et sur les limites que les médecins doivent respecter.

Toutes les provinces canadiennes ont des lois sur les droits de la personne qui interdisent la discrimination.

Placer le curseur sur chacune des images ci-dessous pour voir quelles sont les caractéristiques qui ne peuvent donner lieu à une discrimination.

Sexe : Le terme « sexe » désigne les caractéristiques biologiques ou physiologiques qui définissent les hommes et les femmes; le « genre » concerne les attitudes, les rôles sociaux et les comportements qu'une société associe à un sexe plutôt qu'à l'autre. Dans certaines lois sur les droits de la personne, la définition de la discrimination fondée sur le sexe inclut le fait qu'une femme soit ou puisse devenir enceinte. Identité du genre : Désigne l'auto-identification d'une personne comme homme, femme ou transgenre. Expression du genre : Façon dont une personne exprime le genre auquel elle appartient (par son habillement ou sa façon de communiquer). Elle ne correspond pas nécessairement à l'identité du genre de la personne ni avec les rôles que société attribue à un genre donné. Orientation sexuelle: Sexe des partenaires envers lesquels une personne éprouve une attirance d'ordre sexuel ou romantique.Croyance: On parle souvent indifféremment de croyance ou de religion; il s'agit d'un système établi et d'une confession incluant les convictions et les rites ou services religieux. La religion et la croyance sont définies de façon subjective. Il ne s'agit pas nécessairement de la croyance en un être ou un dieu suprême et unique; les codes des droits de la personne reconnaissent généralement comme croyances les entités non traditionnelles et non déistes. Ethnicité, race, origines ancestrales et lieu d'origine: La « race » et « l'ethnicité » constituent des notions de sociologie qui se recoupent. La « race », auparavant étroitement liée aux origines ancestrales, classe les personnes en fonction de caractéristiques physiques superficielles, telles que la couleur de la peau et le type de cheveux. L'ethnicité se définit quant à elle par des caractéristiques socioculturelles communes, telles que les origines ancestrales, la langue, la religion et les traditions. L'ethnicité ne représente pas une notion immuable, mais est plutôt définie par la personne concernée elle-même; certaines personnes peuvent, par exemple, s'identifier plus étroitement avec la culture de leur pays d'adoption qu'avec celle de leurs origines ancestrales ou de leur lieu d'origine.Incapacité: Tout degré d'invalidité physique, mentale, liée au développement ou à l'apprentissage, toute déficience ou dysfonction, y compris l'utilisation de dispositifs correctifs, d'appareils ou d'animaux-guides. Âge: Durée de la vie d'une personne jusqu'à aujourd'hui. État matrimonial: Le fait d'être marié, célibataire, veuf, divorcé, séparé ou de vivre en couple sans être marié. Situation de famille: Le fait de se trouver dans une relation parent-enfant. Citoyenneté : Désigne le pays de naissance d'une personne ou celui dont elle a reçu la citoyenneté par naturalisation. Une même personne peut avoir plusieurs citoyennetés.
Orientation sexuelle État matrimonial Croyance Incapacité Sexe Situation de famille Citoyenneté Identité du genre Expression du genre Âge Ethnicité, race, origines ancestrales et lieu d'origine Ethnicité, race, origines ancestrales et lieu d'origine Ethnicité, race, origines ancestrales et lieu d'origine

Médecin qui réfléchit

En général, les médecins n'exercent pas une discrimination délibérée contre certaines personnes ou certains groupes; cependant il peut leur arriver de ne pas comprendre que leurs propres actions peuvent être perçues comme discriminatoires ou qu'elles le sont réellement.

  • Après avoir pris connaissance des cas qui suivent, demandez-vous en quoi le comportement du médecin pouvait être considéré comme discriminatoire. Bien qu'il ne s'agisse pas nécessairement d'actes délibérés de non-respect des droits des patients, dans tous ces cas les patients ont allégué que le médecin avait agi de façon discriminatoire à leur égard.

Cas : Annulation d'un rendez-vous pour une intervention chirurgicale
Chirurgien aux bras croisés

Contexte

Un chirurgien annule le rendez-vous d'un patient séropositif au VIH. Une fois que l'intervention prévue a été pratiquée par un autre chirurgien à la même clinique, le patient dépose plainte auprès de  l'organisme de réglementation (Collège)
Organisme de réglementation :  Organisme chargé de réglementer une profession.

Organisme provincial ou territorial de réglementation de la pratique de la médecine (Collège)

Organisme qui réglemente la pratique de la médecine dans chaque province ou territoire, dans le but de s'assurer que les membres du public reçoivent des soins médicaux de qualité des médecins. Les responsabilités comprennent :

- la délivrance des permis d'exercice de la médecine;
- le maintien des normes de pratique;
- la poursuite d'enquêtes au sujet de plaintes visant des médecins;
- l'offre d'un enseignement correctif aux praticiens qui ont été tenus responsables.

Au Canada, la profession médicale s'autoréglemente. Chaque organisme ou ordre a élaboré un processus d'enquête et une structure de comités afin de prendre des décisions concernant diverses questions et plaintes.
 affirmant que l'annulation constituait un acte discriminatoire en raison de son état médical.

Le premier chirurgien a expliqué au Collège qu'étant donné les risques d'une infection postopératoire, il avait estimé que les interventions chirurgicales pratiquées chez les patients séropositifs au VIH ne devaient être faites qu'en milieu hospitalier, et non dans un service de consultations externes.

Résultat

Le Collège a déterminé que le médecin avait effectivement agi de manière discriminatoire envers le patient en raison de son état médical.

Le Collège a rappelé au chirurgien que les précautions universelles constituaient la façon appropriée de réduire les risques lors d'un contact infectieux possible. Selon le Collège, le patient ne pouvait en aucun cas se voir refuser accès au traitement.

Précédente
Suivante

Cas : Entrevue initiale
Gros plan du bras d'une femme médecin offrant une poignée de main

Contexte

Un omnipraticien a toujours tenu des entrevues initiales avant d'accepter de nouveaux patients.

Une personne ayant assisté à une telle entrevue a déposé une plainte auprès du Collège après s'être vue refusée à titre de patient.

Le médecin a répondu au Collège que ce patient avait de multiples problèmes qui, à son avis, devraient être pris en charge par des spécialistes.

Résultat

Le Collège a déterminé que le médecin avait effectivement agi de manière discriminatoire envers le patient en raison de son état médical.

Le Collège a signalé que l'omnipraticien pouvait prendre en charge l'état général et l'évolution de l'état du patient et obtenir des consultations avec des spécialistes pour tout problème ne relevant pas de sa compétence.

Précédente
Suivante

Cas : Orientation sexuelle
Double symbole de Vénus

Contexte

Un spécialiste en fertilité refuse l'insémination artificielle à un couple homosexuel.

Le couple dépose plainte auprès du tribunal des droits de la personne de la province.

Le spécialiste justifie son refus en expliquant qu'un autre couple homosexuel pour lequel il avait effectué ce type d'intervention l'avait ensuite impliqué dans une action en justice une fois que les conjoints s'étaient séparés.

Résultat

Le tribunal des droits de la personne a déterminé qu'il s'agissait effectivement d'un acte discriminatoire fondé sur l'orientation sexuelle. Il a souligné le fait que le spécialiste offrait sans hésiter ce service aux couples hétérosexuels malgré le fait que leur relation pouvait tout aussi bien prendre fin et engendrer un litige.
Précédente
Suivante

Avant de rejeter la demande d'une personne qui souhaite devenir votre patient ou recevoir un certain traitement, demandez-vous si ce refus pourrait être perçu comme discriminatoire.

  • Pour pouvoir démontrer que vous avez fait preuve de diligence raisonnable, documentez les motifs de votre décision ainsi que tout échange verbal avec le patient. Les plaintes adressées à un organisme de réglementation (Collège) sont généralement examinées à la lumière de l'article 17 du Code de déontologie de l'Association médicale canadienne qui se lit comme suit :
« Dans la prestation des services médicaux, n'exercer de discrimination envers aucun patient en raison, notamment, de son âge, son sexe, son état civil, son état de santé, son origine nationale ou ethnique, son incapacité physique ou mentale, son affiliation politique, sa race, sa religion, son orientation sexuelle ou sa situation socio-économique. Cette disposition ne prive pas le médecin du droit de refuser un patient pour des raisons légitimes. »