Français

Informed discharge


Alerting patients to warning symptoms and signs

Follow-up


Follow-up instructions

  • Inform the patient about who is the most responsible health professional for follow-up care.

When a patient is discharged from a physician's care, the patient should be made aware of any need for follow-up, who will be providing the follow-up, and how the arrangements will be made (i.e. appointments, etc.).

Who else needs to know?

  • Alert those health professionals who are responsible for follow-up care of the patient.

Case: Trouble in follow-up of an INR
Concerned-looking middle age male on telephone

Context

A 54-year-old male patient begins a course of anticoagulants prescribed by a consulting cardiologist. She instructs the patient to see his family physician to manage the International Normalized Ratio (INR).
Female nurse on telephone

Outcome

The patient calls the family physician for an appointment. The receptionist, who is not aware of the importance of the follow-up, arranges an appointment in three weeks. Unfortunately the patient dies from massive cerebral bleeding prior to being seen.

Think about it

How might this patient's outcome have been prevented?

Lessons learned

To facilitate continuity of care, the health professional responsible for following the patient after discharge should receive information about any outstanding investigations or any required follow-up testing.

The discharge information should be sufficient to enable ongoing care. In particular, the information should indicate the provider most responsible for following the patient and for arranging recommended investigations.

Previous
Next

If the patient has been given responsibility for making a follow-up appointment with another physician or healthcare provider, that healthcare provider should have been notified so that appropriate follow-up can be arranged.

If follow-up is perceived to be urgent, it is often helpful to contact the subsequent provider to verbally explain the clinical situation. Document your efforts in the medical record.

English

Congé éclairé


Avertir les patients des signes et symptômes avant-coureurs

Suivi


Instructions faisant partie du suivi

  • Dire au patient qui est le professionnel de la santé le plus responsable du suivi.

Au moment où le patient cesse d'être sous la responsabilité d'un médecin, il doit recevoir des indications sur le besoin ou non de revenir pour un suivi, les personnes responsables du suivi et les dispositions qui entourent le suivi (comme les rendez-vous).

Qui d'autre doit être au courant?

  • Il faut avertir tous les professionnels de la santé responsables du suivi du patient.

Cas : Problèmes au cours du suivi d'un RIN
Homme d'âge moyen au téléphone, l'air préoccupé

Contexte

Un homme de 54 ans entreprend une anticoagulothérapie prescrite par une cardiologue qu'il a consultée. Elle dirige le patient vers son omnipraticien, qui doit gérer le Rapport international normalisé (RIN).
Infirmière au téléphone

Résultat

Le patient appelle son omnipraticien pour prendre rendez-vous. La réceptionniste, qui ne connaît pas l'importance du suivi, fixe un rendez-vous trois semaines plus tard. Malheureusement, le patient décède d'une importante hémorragie cérébrale avant d'avoir vu son omnipraticien.

Pistes de réflexion

Comment aurait-on pu éviter ce résultat?

Leçons retenues

Pour faciliter la continuité des soins, le professionnel de la santé responsable de suivre le patient après son congé devrait être au courant de toute investigation à faire ou des tests de suivi nécessaires.

Les renseignements qui accompagnent le congé doivent suffire à assurer la continuité des soins. En particulier, ils doivent indiquer qui est le professionnel de la santé le plus responsable du suivi et de planifier les investigations recommandées.

Précédente
Suivante

S'il incombe au patient de fixer un rendez-vous de suivi avec un autre médecin ou professionnel de la santé, ce dernier doit être avisé, pour que le suivi puisse être organisé.

Si le suivi est estimé urgent, il est souvent utile de communiquer avec le prochain professionnel de la santé pour lui expliquer verbalement la situation clinique. Documentez vos efforts dans le dossier médical.