Français

Legal liability


When harm from healthcare delivery occurs

Professional civil liability in Québec


Woman holding scales of justice with map of Québec in background Most medical-legal actions in Québec are based on a claim of civil liability. In Québec, the plaintiff must prove the 3 basic elements of civil liability for a claim to be successful:
  1. Fault. This concept is at the heart of civil liability. Every person has a duty to abide by certain rules or standards of conduct, and if a person does not, they have committed a fault. The plaintiff must demonstrate the physician committed a fault, that is, did not act as a reasonably prudent physician of similar training and experience would have under the circumstances.
  2. Damages. The plaintiff must have suffered a prejudice (bodily, moral, or material) as a result of the fault committed.
  3. Causation. The plaintiff must establish the physician's fault caused the damages.

Patients who have suffered harm may seek compensation. Under Québec law, in order to receive compensation a patient (plaintiff) must prove the 3 elements noted above. The defendant may be one or more individuals — physicians, nurses, and others — or institutions, such as clinics and hospitals. Residents and (rarely) medical students can be, and have been, sued.

English

Responsabilité juridique


Lorsqu'un préjudice est associé à la prestation des soins

Responsabilité civile professionnelle au Québec


Femme tenant la balance de la justice, avec une carte du Québec en arrière-plan La plupart des actions médico-légales au Québec sont fondées sur une allégation de responsabilité civile. Au Québec, le défendeur doit établir la preuve de 3 éléments fondamentaux de la responsabilité civile pour obtenir gain de cause.
  1. Faute. Ce concept est au cœur de la responsabilité civile. Toute personne a le devoir de respecter certaines règles ou normes de conduite; sinon, elle commet une faute. Le demandeur doit prouver que le médecin a commis une faute, c'est-à-dire qu'il n'a pas agi comme l'aurait fait dans les mêmes circonstances un médecin raisonnablement prudent, ayant une formation et une expérience semblables.
  2. Dommages. Le demandeur doit avoir subi un dommage ou une atteinte (sur le plan corporel, moral ou matériel) à la suite de la faute commise.
  3. Lien de causalité. Le demandeur doit prouver que la faute commise par le médecin a causé le dommage.

Les patients ayant subi un préjudice peuvent chercher à obtenir une compensation. En vertu de la loi au Québec, un patient (demandeur) doit, pour obtenir une compensation, établir la preuve des 3 éléments susmentionnés. Le défendeur peut représenter une ou plusieurs personnes – médecins, infirmières et autres – ou un ou plusieurs établissements, tels que des cliniques et des centres hospitaliers. Les résidents et (rarement), les étudiants en médecine peuvent être poursuivis et l'ont déjà été.