Français

Understanding harm


How harm occurs

Terminology used in Québec


It is important for physicians practising in Québec to understand the terms accident and incident, as these are entrenched in law and will help physicians to fulfill their obligations for disclosing and reporting events.

Accident

In Québec law, accident refers to harm resulting from healthcare delivery. The Act Respecting Health Services and Social Services defines an accident as "an action or situation where a risk event occurs which has or could have consequences for the state of health or welfare of the user, a personnel member, a professional involved, or a third person."

To learn more about "Terminology used in Québec", click on each box in the diagram.

(Read as text only)
Opens in popup
or combination
  • Consequence

    • Underlying medical condition/disease

    • Accident

Consequence

An outcome that negatively affects the patient's health and quality of life. The analysis of an event indicates the consequence resulted from (or a combination of) the following factors.

Incident

In Québec's Act Respecting Health Services and Social Services, an incident is "an action or situation that does not have consequences for the state of health or the welfare of the user, a personnel member, a professional involved, or a third person, but the outcome of which is unusual and could have had consequences under different circumstances."

It should be noted that neither term, accident nor incident, corresponds exactly to the WHO terminology. As the CMPA interprets the Québec legislation, the term accident would align with the WHO term "harmful incident" whereas the term incident would include the WHO terms "no harm incident" and "near miss."

English

Qu'est-ce qu'un préjudice?


Comment survient le préjudice?

Terminologie au Québec


Il est important que les médecins exerçant au Québec comprennent les définitions des termes accident et incident telles qu'elles sont consacrées dans la loi et qu'ils s'en servent pour mieux remplir leurs obligations lors de la divulgation et de la déclaration des événements.

Accident

En droit québécois, le terme accident désigne une complication découlant de la prestation des soins. La Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux définit le terme accident comme étant « une action ou situation où le risque se réalise et est, ou pourrait être, à l'origine de conséquences sur l'état de santé ou le bien-être de l'usager, du personnel, d'un professionnel concerné ou d'un tiers. »

Pour vous familiariser avec la « Terminologie en usage au Québec », cliquez sur chaque case du tableau.

(Lire en format texte seulement)
S'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre
ou une combinaison
  • Conséquence

    • Affection ou maladie sous-jacente

    • Accident

Conséquence

Un résultat qui influe négativement sur la santé et la qualité de vie du patient. L'analyse d'un événement révèle que la conséquence résulte de (ou d'une combinaison de) ces facteurs suivants.

Incident

Dans la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux du Québec, un incident est défini comme « une action ou une situation qui n'entraîne pas de conséquence sur l'état de santé ou le bien-être d'un usager, du personnel, d'un professionnel concerné ou d'un tiers mais dont le résultat est inhabituel et qui, en d'autres occasions, pourrait entraîner des conséquences. »

Cependant, aucun de ces termes, accident ou incident, ne correspond parfaitement à la terminologie de l'OMS. Selon l'interprétation de l'ACPM de la législation en vigueur au Québec, le terme accident correspondrait à l'expression « incident préjudiciable » de l'OMS tandis que le terme incident correspondrait aux expressions « incident sans préjudice » et « incident évité de justesse ».